ASAP Vortex Inlands at Grafham Water Sailing Club April 2008

Despite the forcast of snow the first Vortex Grand Prix event of the year attracted a healthy 19 asymmetric and standard boats, all eager to get on the water after a long lay off.

The wind was blowing a decent force 2-3 with a big wind chill which suited Ian Escritt, back in the fold after a year's lay off. He rattled off 2 bullets with Mike Gower close on his heels in race one followed by Chris Tilbrook and Terry Pressdee.

The second race was starting to get breezier with Phil Whitehead pipped on the line by a more tactical Ian Escritt with Terry again a consistent good result of third. The race was marred by poor Chris Stanbrook being holed by a Canoe and just manging to get back to shore without sinking.

The wind increased to a force 4-5 in the last race and Phil Whitehead took a commanding lead and finished first followed by Chris and our up and coming heavy weather man Jonathan Steward. Mike Gower was a very consistent 4th.

The layer of snow of the ground on Sunday morning proved the forcasters right for once. The wind was variable force 2-3 but the sun came out masking a negative temperature. Ian again ran away with race 4 after a good tussle with Chris Tilbrook and Mike Gower.

After uncharacteristically poor results on saturday Keith Escritt showed why he is national champion and blasted off in the next race with again Terry hot on his heels. Ian decided to mop up the last race with a comfortable win with yet again Terry close behind and Keith and Mike following up the rear.

The Standard fleet was convincingly won by home club sailor Tony White with 6 bullets with Simon Middleton and Jim Rice, both new to the ASAP International circuit, following behind.

A very enjoyable but cold event setting the circuit rolling for the next event at Yorkshire Dales on 10/11 May. Thanks to our sponsor ASAP International for the refresments on Saturday night.


Overall Results:

1. Ian Escritt (Yorkshire Dales SC) 7pts
2. Terry Pressdee (YDSC) 15pts
3. Mike Gower (Wilsonian SC) 17pts
4. Keith Escritt (YDSC) 22pts
5. Chris Tilbrook (Paignton SC) 23pts

Standard Fleet
1. Tony White (Grafham Water SC) 5pts


Full results can be found here:,IM,Vortex.htm